

# FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

May 2, 2017

# Biophysical Society Statement on FY 2017 Omnibus Budget Bill

Contact: Ellen Weiss

eweiss@biophysics.org

The Biophysical Society strongly supports the FY 2017 omnibus spending package released on May 1 that includes a \$2 billion increase for the NIH and modest increases for the National Science Foundation and the Department of Energy Office of Science. The Society urges Congress and President Trump to finalize this investment without further delay. These funds will allow researchers working across the nation to continue the important work they do that results in better health outcomes and a strong economy.

Sustainable, predictable, and robust funding is necessary to have a healthy research ecosystem and we applaud leaders of the House and Senate Appropriations Committees for persevering in support of a robust investment in NIH in FY 2017 to build on their success in FY 2016, and for sustaining support of the NSF and DOE Office of Science research programs. In particular, we commend Senate Labor-HHS-Education Appropriations Subcommittee Chair Roy Blunt (R-Mo.) and Ranking Member Patty Murray (D-Wash.), and House Subcommittee Chair Tom Cole (R-Okla.) and Ranking Member Rosa DeLauro (D-Conn.), for continuing the longstanding bipartisan, bicameral tradition of championing the national commitment to medical research. We also thank all the Representatives and Senators who put aside partisan divide and publicly to support this legislation.

The Biophysical Society, founded in 1958, is a professional, scientific Society established to encourage development and dissemination of knowledge in biophysics. The Society promotes growth in this expanding field through its annual meeting, bimonthly journal, and committee and outreach activities. Its 9,000 members are located throughout the U.S. and the world, where they teach and conduct research in colleges, universities, laboratories, government agencies, and industry. For more information on the Society, or the 2017 Annual Meeting, visit http://www.biophysics.org.

### **OFFICERS**

### President

Lukas Tamm University of Virginia

#### President-Elect

Angela Gronenborn University of Pittsburgh

### Past-President

Suzanne Scarlata
Worcester Polytechnic Institute

#### Secretary

Frances Separovic
University of Melbourne

#### Treasurer

Paul Axelsen University of Pennsylvania

### **Executive Officer**

Rosalba Kampman Biophysical Society, Rockville

#### COUNCIL

Zev Bryant
Jane Clarke
Bertrand Garcia-Moreno
Teresa Giraldez
Ruben Gonzalez, Jr.
Ruth Heidelberger
Robert Nakamoto
Arthur Palmer
Gabriela Popescu
Marina Ramirez-Alvarado
Erin Sheets
Joanna Swain

### BIOPHYSICAL JOURNAL

Editor-in-Chief Leslie Loew

### **COMMITTEE CHAIRS**

### **Awards**

Betsy Komives

# Early Careers

Bert Tanner

## Education

Gina MacDonald

### Finance

Paul Axelsen

Inclusion and Diversity
Marina Ramirez-Alvarado

# International Relations

Daumantas Matulis

# **Member Services**

Frances Separovic

# Membership

Juliette Lecomte

### Nominating

Art Palmer

### **Professional Opportunities**

for Women (CPOW)

Gabriela Popescu

# Public Affairs

Edward Egelman

### **Publications**

Olaf Anderson

# Thematic Meetings

Richard Aldrich